1942 GPW #17405 (pic heavy)

If you have an unrestored WWII jeep, we would like to see pictures, and hear your comments. NO EBAY or COMMERCIAL SALES.
cevensky
G-Sergeant First Class
G-Sergeant First Class

Post by cevensky » Mon Jul 14, 2014 7:39 pm

Hi everyone,
I'm new to the owners' club, but I've been lurking on the gee for quite a while. I started wanting one of these several months ago and since then I've been reading and learning all I can.
The nail in my OD coffin was a jeep ride I got in the beginning of this June from a Belgian friend (he may be on here) in his original '44 GPW--through the hedgerows of Normandy during the 70th anniversary of D-Day!
Right after that experience I decided not to let another one pass me by and wanted to seal the deal on the one I'd been looking at. I called my parents back in the states and asked if they would pick up GPW #17405 in Houston on their way back home from San Antonio. They said yes, I told them where my cash was, 15 minutes later the deal was done, and 2 hours after I got back from France I had no cash and a jeep in the driveway :lol: I have very very nice and supportive parents
It doesn't run, but hopefully it won't be the most difficult thing to make happen.
The engine has the original F stamped head.. not sure about the components around it.
The transmission is a T-90 with a modified crossmember.. at least the floor didn't suffer!
The date of delivery is 4-21-42 and I have the original data plate. The frame and engine number are also 17405. Fair amount of "F" marked parts (minus bolts...)
There is a fair amount of bondo, but so far the metal underneath isn't terribly rust, just not straight.
The frame has surface rust, but underneath some of the grime and superficial rust it has a beautiful coat of original OD, all it takes is a scrape with a stick.
It's hard to work outside in the garage at my parents' office at anytime during the summer because of the 98% humidity & 100°F heat in Northwest Louisiana.