M274 Mechanical Mule Wanted, For Sale (NO AUCTION or EBAY), and Knowledge Base
Barrie Richards
G-Sergeant First Class
G-Sergeant First Class

Post by Barrie Richards » Tue Jan 02, 2018 2:49 am

Happy New Year everyone.

I am new to the M274 having just bought one as a Christmas present to myself.
My purchase is a M274-A5, two cylinder, two wheel steer, electric start model.

I believe (?) it has been in the U.K. for 18 months / 2 years and being a Mule novice will gratefully accept any information and advice.

The ID plate on the side of the load bed, at the side of the drivers seat has not been stamped with a serial number or date of manufacture. There is a stamping in the metal of the steering column tube ......
5L610
..... would this relate to the ID of the vehicle or would it be a part number ?

Loads of questions, loads of knowledge to gain !

Regards,
Barrie

S.Wales
U.K.

ltsimp
G-Sergeant Major
G-Sergeant Major

Re: Newbie

Post by ltsimp » Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:41 am

Welcome to the site. You’ve come to the right place to get your questions answered. I however am unable to answer your stamped number question. It does sound like you have a reproduction tag on the side of your mule. I’m sure someone will answer shortly.

Auto Shop teacher
G-Lieutenant Colonel
G-Lieutenant Colonel

Post by Auto Shop teacher » Tue Jan 02, 2018 7:28 am

Welcome to the board Barrie, there are guys here that have forgotten more about mules than I know about them, so you are in the right place. Be sure to check out the mule tech section because Chuck, Charles and others have put together so much information about mules and how to repair them that its like having an expert looking over your shoulder making sure you do it right.

Remember, there is no such thing as a 'dumb question', if you don't know what to do, there is a good chance that many others have the same problem and you can draw on the vast knowledge pool here to find the answer.

Chuck W.
G-Lieutenant General