Vibrations

1985 - Present, Questions, discussions, regarding anything related to the Humvee. (NO AUCTION or EBAY)

Moderator: Kurt Lesser

Black Fox
G-Sergeant First Class
G-Sergeant First Class

Vibrations

Post by Black Fox » Sat Jan 13, 2007 12:16 am

Gents

My HMMWV has recently developed a vibration. When the engine is ideling I can feel it in the seat, pedals & steering wheel. When I accelerate the vibration increases but as I get to higher speeds it starts to fade. When I get to 50+ it's not really noticiable. My suspision is that it might be a motor mount but I'm not a mechanic. Any help you can provide would be appreciated.

Thank you

Darrell
1986 USMC M-1044 HMMWV
1984 M-101 A2

artificer
banned

Post by artificer » Sat Jan 13, 2007 1:17 am

Generally a fairly smooth idling engine should not exhibit engine mount vibration...would more likely be noticeable on hard acceleration or deceleration. It may pay to explain better what you mean by your vibration.
With this type of specialty vehicle it would probably be a "known thing" to other owners and I'm not one, if they understood better.
John GIBBINS Member Institute of Automotive Mechanical Engineers [Ret], ASE Master Medium/Heavy Truck & Auto Technician USA -2002 Licensed Motor Mech NSW MVIC 49593 Current 2015
TO DIAGNOSE, TROUBLESHOOT OR FAULT FIND ANY AUTO SYSTEM....
Understand how system parts interact with one another. GOOD parts can then be established & the NOT GOOD problem/s part/s isolated for repair or replacement.

Black Fox
G-Sergeant First Class
G-Sergeant First Class

Post by Black Fox » Sat Jan 13, 2007 1:40 am

There is a vibration at all times except at higher speed. Idle and slower speeds its stronger. Higher speeds it weaker. The vibration is the strongest when accelerating from a stopped position. When you let off on the gas there is still a vibration but weaker. It vibrates even when the gears are in neutral.