Fan assembly leaking

1985 - Present, Questions, discussions, regarding anything related to the Humvee. (NO AUCTION or EBAY)

Moderator: Kurt Lesser

Kurtshalftrack
G-Command Sergeant Major
G-Command Sergeant Major

Fan assembly leaking

Post by Kurtshalftrack » Fri Aug 22, 2008 12:52 pm

I am new to HMMWVs mechanial issues. My M998 is leaking red fluid (powersteering Fluid?) from the quick release connector valve on the front of the Fan Assembly. It seem the assembly in front of the fan spins freely where the connector attaches. Is this normal, any idea why the quick release would be leaking it appears new. Any ideas would be great.

Thanks,

Kurt
Kurt
1943 M3 Halftrack
1952 M37
1984 M998
M100
America is still the greatest country on earth...don't give up the fight!

San Diego, CA

Kurt Lesser
G-Lieutenant General
G-Lieutenant General

Post by Kurt Lesser » Fri Aug 22, 2008 1:18 pm

The fan solenoid, brakes, and clutch all get their power from the power steering pump. If you are seeing red fluid that's where it's coming from. The coupling on the front of the fan clutch is made to rotate freely and couple hydraulic power to the clutch when the engine is running to actuate it. If you have a quick disconnect on the fan clutch line it was done after the military released the vehicle. It's a good idea because it makes changing the belts much easied but it does introduce another leak point into the system. If the quick disconnects are cheap ones they could be the source of your fluid but it could also be coming from the seals on the rotary union on the clutch itself and running down the line. Rather than mount the disconnects on the clutch it makes more sense to mount them on the other end of the line where the fitting comes through the shroud. This gives them better support and minimizes vibration in the disconnects.
Last edited by Kurt Lesser on Sat Aug 23, 2008 8:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
Kurt Lesser
US Navy, 1969-1975
M996A1 Ambulance w/M101A3 Trailer