An affordable off-road vehicle w. replacement parts

Other MV's, Non U.S. Manufacture
DAnconiaLead
G-Civilian
An affordable off-road vehicle w. replacement parts

Post by DAnconiaLead » Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:02 pm

I'm seeking suggestions for an affordable off-road vehicle that also street-legal (with nothing more then a Class A license), has good off-road capabilities, can serve as a platform for family-camping, and if/when needed, could serve as a bug-out-vehicle for the family.

I'm an OTR driver and, while on-the-road, I meet a family (in Kansas) that was using a BTR-152 for this purpose. According to them, the BTR-152 as near perfect because it was affordable to acquire (they claim to have paid $5,000), easy to maintain with lots of spare parts available, has good off-road capabilities, is legal on-road, is currently their family camping platform, and is armored against small-arms if/when SHTF.

Out of curiosity, I checked to see where one of these vehicles could be purchased in the US and what one would cost and, unfortunately, can't find one...

First, would any of you be able to recommend a better vehicle for this purpose?

Secondly, would you know where I could acquire such a vehicle?

I'm seeking something with the following characteristics;

1.) Decent off-road capabilities.

2.) Legal on-road (with a Class-A)

3.) Able to transport a family of four for camping, an off-road adventure, or to bug-out.

4.) Armored against small-arms fire (an asset in a bug-out scenario)

5.) Affordable in it's own right as well as having plentiful and affordable replacement parts.

Thank you for your assistance....
Sic semper evello mortem tyrannis!!!

W. Winget
LTC, U.S. Army
LTC, U.S. Army

Re: An affordable off-road vehicle w. replacement parts

Post by W. Winget » Mon May 02, 2016 6:44 am

I would highly recommend visiting the SteelSoldiers.com forum for modified vehicles and equipment of this nature.