HELP! should it be a slat or stamped?

1941 - 1945, MB, GPW Technical questions and discussions, regarding anything related to the WWII jeep.
41 willys
G-Sergeant
G-Sergeant
HELP! should it be a slat or stamped?

Post by 41 willys » Sat Jan 31, 2015 8:03 am

hello I just purchased a 1941 willys mb script jeep, no glove box or tailgate.it has a stamped grill? I was told it should prob. have a slat grill ? I am new to this and trying to learn about what I have. Its serial no. is 102711,matching chassis also.DOD is 12-20-1941.It has a GPW motor no.79193 I think that puts that around 1942. the motor has a rebuild tag from Whitemore service comand depot.Ayer Ma. Dated 1944. it appears to be almost all orig. It has a data tag next to the three tags that refers to a heater intstructions but no heater. there is evidence of a hole in the hood in the area of the air cleaner . Looking for any info on that? also fitted with a filtrate I think? also fitted with a Slave Battery outlet receptacle ? What is this and how was it used? and lastly ,Yea Right. a question about the wind shield. Mine has gun mount on the frame ? I was told it is prob later. what is the correct height of the wind shield for that year? Thank you all for any help you can provide. I am looking forward to putting this back to it glory and back on the road. Richard

fiveftsix
G-Second Lieutenant
G-Second Lieutenant

Re: HELP! should it be a slat or stamped?

Post by fiveftsix » Sat Jan 31, 2015 8:20 am

Congratulations Richard on your find !!!
102711 should have the iron slat grill and the low windshield too.
I believe that serial number should also have a bracket for the rear brake hose mounted on the chassis with the brake pipe "T" mounted on the drivers side rear axle tube and not on the pumpkin as later models.
The filtrette that`s under the dash should have a hinged lid.
The slave Batt outlet was a later addition it was used to aid starting other vehicles as well as other uses requiring power.