Price to get into the hobby?

Towed Artillery, Wanted, For Sale,(NO EBAY ITEMS) and Knowledge Base
Sikorsky502
G-First Sergeant
G-First Sergeant

Price to get into the hobby?

Post by Sikorsky502 » Sun Oct 05, 2014 9:29 am

Hello everyone. I'm new to the G but I've been reading the info on here for a while. I'm looking to start a new hobby and the military collecting is right up my alley. I'm an Iraq vet and would like to get back to having some military items to play with. Here's my question. What would I be looking at price wise to build a cannon? From what I've read something like the 25mm puteaux would be easy for parts and if I understand correctly can fire 25mm bushmaster rounds that are readily available. I don't need to buy something restored. I'm a mechanic and enjoy working on things so I wouldn't mind finding parts and building myself. Any info would be helpfull. Thanks.
M901a1 ITV
M757 Ford

waterdawg2004
Sergeant Major of the Gee

Re: Price to get into the hobby?

Post by waterdawg2004 » Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:24 pm

This is the best spot for info and parts. Also try the 191a4 artillery forum. There are ads for Puteaux parts for sale on this forum, not cheap. Try subguns and strumgewher for parts and pieces for sale, and live guns, also look at cannonsuperstore. I have a Puteaux which I made live after paying the DD tax and had Ohio Ordance repair a hole in the barrel. They said a hole in the barrel can be repaired but a hole in the chamber can not. The holes in barrels where made when the guns was demilled. You can find cases, projos, die sets, primers for the 25mm but the powder is hard to find, I am still looking. I bought some live and orginal 25mm Puteaux rounds but can not find anymore. To answer your question for prices, I paid from memory approximately:
$14000 for demilled gun
$2500 for repair to make live by Ohio Ordance
$100/ round for live rounds, can't fine anymore
$21 to $58 for cases, some came really bent so I needed a die set also