Starting restoration on Michael's ’43 GPW.

Create a thread to track the progress of you MB/GPW restoration progress. Previously a General Discussion board.
ILikePlanesToo
Sergeant Major of the Gee
Starting restoration on Michael's ’43 GPW.

Post by ILikePlanesToo » Wed Feb 29, 2012 6:25 pm

Hi everyone,
I have visited this forum many times in the past, but I just joined a few weeks ago.

I picked up this nice project 1943 GPW in December, and I’m now looking over it carefully to start my restoration. I have a lot to learn, but I’m excited to get into it. I have never restored a military vehicle before, but I’m a mechanical engineer, a machinist, and I have a lot of hands on aircraft fabrication experience. Hopefully this isn’t too big a project for me :|

This is what I got:

Data plate: GPW115329
Frame: GPW115329
Engine: MB475893
Hood: 20385939
Delivery: 6/9/43

Vehicle History:
This GPW was used by the US Army Corps of Engineers in Los Alamos, NM during The War on the Manhattan Project. I don’t know what it was actually used for, but the previous owner thought it might have been used as a security patrol “jeep”. I have the names of all the civilian owners (I am the third civilian owner).

Vehicle Condition:
I have driven it once around the block. It starts right up and seems to run pretty smooth. The floor is rusted out under the passenger seat. The passenger side rear corner is messed up with some Bubba body work, and the frame needs a lot of work around the front and rear bumpers (nasty steel channel bumpers complete with Bubba welds, rust, and cracks). The electrical is a bit of a mess and is 12V. It has a Solex carburetor and a modern oil filter.

I’ll probably be on the forum a lot in the future, but I wanted to see if anyone had any thoughts on this vehicle or had any words of wisdom to share as a start into it.

Have a good evening,
Michael
Attachments
3.jpg
3.jpg (77.31 KiB) Viewed 27848 times
2.jpg
2.jpg (74.78 KiB) Viewed 27848 times
1.jpg