Help needed: ignition and reverse gear

1959 - 1978, M151, M151A1, M151A2, Technical questions and discussions, regarding anything related to the M151.
Hendrik2A
G-Civilian
Help needed: ignition and reverse gear

Post by Hendrik2A » Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:06 pm

Hi everyone, greetings from South Africa.

I own a Mutt 151a1C, and i think its the only one in SA :) im new to MUTT's, i have been a CJ2a owner for 10years.

Help needed with two issues:

Firstly:
My mutt has carb and ignition problems. Starts great and idle great, but cant run smoothly. Think its carb and fuel, it stutters and runs uneven when i accelerate, especially under load uphill. Has very poor power and stepping on the gas does not give desired acceleration performance. The mutt doesnt not have one flatspot, but stutters all the time as if fuel is pumped/delivered through carb unevenly, and thus my Mutt is running weak with poor power.

I have done the following:
1. New coil, condenser, points and capacitor
2. Cleaned the carb and installed what i could from the carb kit.
3. New spark plugs and wires
4. Set the timing
5. New inline aftermarket fuel pump, and fuel filter.

The mutt ran very well after the above was done and tuneup. But all of a sudden the stuttering and poor running started again.

Secondly:
Today i could not use reverse gear, the gear lever shifts into reverse position, but no gears engages so i cant reverse. Does this happen with the Mutt? Is the reverse gear broken? What must i do?

Thanx guys!

Rickf
G-Lieutenant General
G-Lieutenant General

Re: Help needed: ignition and reverse gear

Post by Rickf » Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:34 pm