No fire after a 4-5 year sit

1952 - 1968, M38A1, M170, questions, discussions, regarding anything related to the M38a1 series.
CharlieCnTx
G-Private First Class
G-Private First Class
No fire after a 4-5 year sit

Post by CharlieCnTx » Sun Aug 14, 2016 11:56 am

Trying to get my fathers a1 running after a 5 yr or so sit. Ran fine when last parked. Have gone through the fuel system and rebuilt the carb. Tried cranking today while spraying ether, no so much as even a flutter.

I've never worked on a points vehicle before, first car was a '74 p/up that had HEI. Also would like some direction on the spark plug wires so I don't break one somehow and have to replace one.

Can I get some ideas on where to start?

Thanks,
Charlie

Thunderbird712
G-First Lieutenant
G-First Lieutenant

Re: No fire after a 4-5 year sit

Post by Thunderbird712 » Mon Aug 15, 2016 4:04 am

In the TM 9-8014 there is a troubleshooting section starting on page 79. Under Engine their is a list of things to check for "Engine turns but will not start". This is a good starting point and would help to narrow down the problem to a certain system to focus further questions. Additionally, it will help the experts here focus their responses. If you don't have a copy of the manual I can email it to you.

Also if aren't a member I would highly recommend going over to willysmjeeps.com and becoming a member. You can download all the manuals for free their and it is focused on M-series jeeps.
TJ Zackman
1945 Willys MB, 430923, 3/28/45
Scored 98.375% at 2019 MVPA Convention York, PA

1953 M38A1, 69248, 12/53, 20999713
MVPA# 37298

dlevy
G-First Lieutenant
G-First Lieutenant

Post by dlevy » Wed Aug 17, 2016 6:33 pm

Hi,

I would start by lightly burnishing the points and then check for a spark if still nothing.

Dave

Joe Gopan
Jeep Heaven

Post by Joe Gopan » Wed Aug 17, 2016 7:23 pm