Motor swap + more

1941 - 1945, MB, GPW modifications, sugestions, and ideas, official MWO's and unofficial WWII field mods NO EBAY or COMMERCIAL SALES.
scheinerj
G-Command Sergeant Major
G-Command Sergeant Major
Motor swap + more

Post by scheinerj » Sun Sep 17, 2017 11:29 am

Hi, I am currently in beginning stages of building my second military vehicle. My first was an MB, second is a 42 GPW.

I want to go a different route with this one and make it more of a rat rod style, slightly lower than stock.

I am fairly new at restoring cars so I will need some guidance.

Motor - I know of some people that have turbod the F head (which I have a spare of, and it turns over but a rebuild will he needed). Would a small block chevy fit? Would a v8 work? What other options are feasible?

As far as the frame goes, I currently have it stripped and primed. Will I need to make any additions to strengthen it?

For suspension can I utilize the original leaf springs or will I have to modify the suspension and go a different route?

Does anyone know of any other builds similar to one I am thinking of ?

Bart1015
G-Major
G-Major

Re: Motor swap + more

Post by Bart1015 » Sun Sep 17, 2017 8:09 pm

Vortec V6 is the easiest. Pull it from an Astro van (fuel injected with 200hp), including the electric control unit. The bell housing is the same bolt pattern as the 350. Advance Adapters should have the required adapter to a T90, or Turbo350 transmission. Put the electronic control module in a 1st aid box and mount it under the dash like the late WW2 jeeps have.

The vortex is a 350 V8 with two cylinders cut off. Its a short engine that will require less cutting of the grille and firewall.

This is a very common swap in a CJ and this is the way I would go if I were to re-power my jeep. I would also have a good radiator shop address the cooling end of things.

Brett
1942 VEP GPW, J-2 winch, BC-659, 1919a4
1945 GPW, 1943 MBT
Sold - 1967 M151a1, 1943 MB, M416
www.ToThePointPolygraph.com